Take the 2-minute tour ×
Web Applications Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for power users of web applications. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In Google+'s “Add circles or people to share with...” box, I can enter “Public”, making the post visible to/shared with everyone. I can also enter a circle, with or without the “Notify about this post” option.

Is there any difference at all between these two cases?

  • a post which is shared with “Public”
  • a post which is shared with “Public” and with one of my circles, without Notify
share|improve this question
add comment

3 Answers 3

If you want a definitive answer: it makes no different.

Sharing in Google+ is not about pushing things into one's Streams, it's about allowing content to shop up in Streams of people that want to see it, that are following you.

So whether sharing public or public + circle, posts shared public will allow the post to appear in any stream of any person following you. So the additional circle makes absolutely no difference. Sharing to a circles allows the people in it to see your post if they want to, sharing to the public allows everyone to do it.

Everyone + certain group = everyone, it's that simple. I hope this answer is definitive enough for you :)

share|improve this answer
add comment

No, there's no difference:

  • People who have you in their circles will see your post in their stream, regardless whether they are in your chosen circle or not.
  • People who don't have you in their circles will see your post if they visit your profile.
share|improve this answer
    
Not including Public is not one of the options my question is about. –  Kevin Reid Aug 31 '12 at 18:07
    
Right - I had misread your question. I'll edit it to turn that vote around :) –  Torben Gundtofte-Bruun Aug 31 '12 at 19:32
add comment

I believe public allows all circles to see it. So therefore both should do the same thing.

share|improve this answer
2  
Thanks, but I'm looking for a more definitive answer than that. –  Kevin Reid Dec 21 '11 at 14:56
1  
@Fogest: "Public" allows ANYONE to see it, even those you have blocked or don't have a Google+ account. –  Al E. Jan 9 '12 at 17:45
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.