Take the 2-minute tour ×
Web Applications Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for power users of web applications. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I created a closed group and was the sole administrator. Somehow I deleted myself from the group and cannot regain access because I am the person that admits people to the group. What can I do to resolve this issue without having to delete the group? There are so many members, I won't be able to re invite them.

share|improve this question
add comment

3 Answers

Per the Facebook FAQ - How can I become a group admin?

You're automatically an admin if you create a group. Otherwise, if you join a group that already has one or more admins, you can ask any of the existing admins to add you as an admin. If you're a member of a group with no admins, you can become an admin by clicking Make Me Admin under Members in the right column.

However, it appears that Facebook needs to update this FAQ, since there's no longer a right column with a Members sections. Instead, the Make Me Admin option is now under the settings icon (looks like a gear) at the top right of the group page.

So, you will need to privately contact one of your group members and ask him/her to become an admin using the instructions above. He or she will then be able to add you to the group and make you an admin again.

How do I add more admins to my group?

  • Click on the About tab
  • Find a member by scrolling through the page or entering a name in the search box
  • Click Make Admin under the name of the member you wish to add as an admin
share|improve this answer
add comment

I'm not sure how Facebook behaves when the admin leaves a group, but its possible that it may assign admin to another user (maybe who ever joined 2nd). If you know anyone who is a member of the group in real life then I'd ask them if they can see who is admin.

Otherwise you can report a problem with groups here by following the Tell us More link at the bottom of this page: https://www.facebook.com/help/issues/groups

share|improve this answer
add comment

I think that when you delete yourself, it deletes the group if you made the group and were the only administrator.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.