Take the 2-minute tour ×
Web Applications Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for power users of web applications. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Prior to a lot of the privacy redesign changes that have been going on with Facebook, I had a specific set of friends grouped into a friend list. For this list, I restricted access so that these members could not post on my wall.

Since the privacy redesign several months ago, Facebook removed the ability to granularly toggle this setting. I'd like these members to be able to post on my wall now, and despite the setting being gone, they are still prevented from posting. As you can see below, I have globally enabled wall posting.

Wall setting

To me, it is like Facebook removed the ability to set the option, but didn't remove the database and code that reads the setting. There doesn't appear to be a toggle, and I'd rather not have to go through each member, remove them from the current list, and add them to a similarly named new list.

Anybody have any ideas on how I can toggle this behavior?

share|improve this question
    
Did you try to uncheck that option, save, then check the option, then save again? –  Senseful Jul 12 '10 at 22:01
    
The global setting in the image? Yes, I have. Doesn't fix it. –  Rebecca Chernoff Jul 12 '10 at 22:45

2 Answers 2

up vote 2 down vote accepted

I think your best bet would be to report the bug on this page. Probably use the third option from the bottom called "I've set the privacy of some of my content to "Everyone", but it's not visible to everyone." If you don't have access to the setting and you know moving users out of the list and into a new one works, then that might be your best options rather than waiting.

share|improve this answer
    
That option if you click on it appears to be specifically for photos. I did use the last option, which is this form facebook.com/help/?page=1000#!/help/… , but haven't received a response. –  Rebecca Chernoff Jul 13 '10 at 3:30
    
go straight to the source support@facebook.com –  phwd Jul 13 '10 at 3:50

I think they removed this feature. See Question 3309 for the opposite of this question.

share|improve this answer
    
I understand that they removed the feature. Except that they didn't fully remove it because the members of this list are still restricted by the former setting. –  Rebecca Chernoff Jul 13 '10 at 1:44

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.