Take the 2-minute tour ×
Web Applications Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for power users of web applications. It's 100% free, no registration required.

There is no save button. How can I tell if the Trello card is saved or not?

share|improve this question
    
Can you be more specific? What action are you trying to take? –  OnenOnlyWalter Dec 19 '12 at 2:35
    
I open a card, add a field with some data, then usually there is a Save button and I click it. Then I close that card. Has my card been saved? There is no Save button for the card, and if I click outside the card, it closes. I find I keep opening the card to see if what I just put in was saved. –  Mark Dec 19 '12 at 23:08
    
No answers have been given so I will assume it's just the way the Trello interface works. I will assume I can trust that the card is saved when I close it after adding or changing a field. It would be nice if the Trello docs mentioned this. They say "Cards are the basic unit of a board." But it appears that fields are the basic controllable unit. You actually cannot save a card explicitly. It just sort of continues on with its ghostly non-save-able existence. –  Mark Dec 22 '12 at 5:15
    
Every change is saved immediately after entering, isn't it? What kind of changes do you mean? –  Michel de Ruiter Dec 24 '12 at 19:01
    
It appears that the changes to the fields of the card are saved immediately. But for some reason I do not trust that they will be there when I open that card again. I think I expect dialog box behavior, like in a desktop application. Usual dialog box behavior is, you change a field or two inside of a dialog box, and then if you close the box, it asks if you want to save what you changed before closing the dialog. –  Mark Jan 2 '13 at 18:34
show 1 more comment

1 Answer 1

Most things on a card will have a "Save" button. In addition to that, other items, such as editing labels or assigning members, will display a tick or checkmark (✔) next to the action you've just completed.

For the most part, when the card content changes, it will autosave.

Sometimes, if you hit ESC on a field, or close it before it has a chance to save, you will see a note like this:

You have unsaved edits on this field. View edits or discard.

You can then make sure your edits are saved to the card before moving onto your next task.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.