Take the 2-minute tour ×
Web Applications Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for power users of web applications. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Somebody shared a folder with me.

I moved it into "My Drive" to sync it (I should have copied, but I did not know at the time).

Now I want to remove a subfolder of that folder from "My Drive". But if I delete it it will disappear from the collaborators too.

I can't drag it out of "My Drive".

Is there any way to do so?

It's ok if it disappear from the initial folder but can be found at another location - I just want it out of My Drive, because I don't want to sync it.

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 1 down vote accepted

If you're the "owner" of that subfolder, set the owner as someone else. Then when you delete it it will only be removed from your account; the other people with whom it is shared will still have access to it.

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks Al that's sort of what I thought but I just wasn't sure it would work like that. I'll still make a copy for a first test ;-) –  Stefano Jan 3 '13 at 7:56
1  
Always a wise plan. –  Al E. Jan 3 '13 at 13:42

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.