Take the 2-minute tour ×
Web Applications Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for power users of web applications. It's 100% free, no registration required.

A kinda disclaimer: My facebook account got hacked, sends spam messages and so, I had to delete my previous account and recreate another one. My browser has the whole history like, with whom I've chatted, whose pages or profiles I had visited, etc. (which is easy for me)

I tried to give a request to my girl. And, I wanna contact her now. When I tried to message her, it showed something like this - like I want to pay something to prove that I'm not a spammer (which I assume happens to every fresher to facebook)...

But when I used her user ID (the user ID I've cleared above) next to the message box URL, facebook.com/messages/[user-ID], I can actually see the messaging window. I sent her a message (I don't know whether it reaches her or not - assuming she'll see see that tomorrow). It showed me that the conversation started now...

What I wanted to know is a couple of things...

  • If I got that dirty payment scheme right, why didn't facebook ask me to pay again?

  • If I get it wrong, what does both mean? or How do they differ? (I mean, one says - Pay 19.41 to send to her inbox, while the other goes just with an Enter key which seems ridiculous..!

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer 1

up vote 3 down vote accepted
  • Whether you're new to Facebook or not is irrelevant, earlier, all Facebook messages to a person you're not connected & provided the other person has allowed for all to message, were delivered to the 'Other' folder

  • Off late, Facebook allows you to send a message directly to the Inbox, instead of the other folder for a fee. This isn't a 'check-for-spammer-routine' - it's one way Facebook is trying to monetize.

  • Sending message via the user's profile delivers to their Other folder, much like how it works when you send a message from your messaging window, provided you haven't paid

share|improve this answer
    
So, precisely - my message will go to Others and once the person accepts my request, it comes back to the inbox. Right? –  Waffle's Crazy Peanut May 12 '13 at 17:25
    
No, it remains in Other folder. Future messages will be delivered to inbox –  Sathya May 12 '13 at 17:27
    
Ahh... Thanks. I shouldn't have had wasted time on capturing and editing those artworks..! :/ –  Waffle's Crazy Peanut May 12 '13 at 17:29
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.