Take the 2-minute tour ×
Web Applications Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for power users of web applications. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I have a folder that I am deleting now to recover some space. The folder is synced to Picasa Webalbums and the icon looks something like this (with a lot more pics)

alt text

  • Does synced mean that next time I run Picasa after deleting the folder, the pics would be deleted from the online storage too?

  • How can I keep the pics online but delete them from my disc?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer 1

up vote 2 down vote accepted

While the help doesn't explicitly mention this case, the 'Sync to Web' basics page has the following:

Once you've enabled the Sync to Web feature, you can sync the following changes from Picasa to Picasa Web Albums:

  • Added or deleted photos

So I would assume that if you delete a folder locally it would also get deleted on the web.

My approach would be to:

a) back up the photos to DVD (just in case)
b) flip the "Sync to Web" switch
c) delete the local copy.

share|improve this answer
    
I also think this is something you'd need to handle if you eject a removable drive. So, I'm using a strategy like this for my removable drive (unsyncing before ejecting). –  Dav Clark Jul 9 '12 at 1:45
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.