3

If I deleted the photos from Telegram chat, would it be deleted from the cloud too? I mean after sending photos to my family, I deleted them from the chat, and I would like to make sure they are deleted from the cloud too, so would they be deleted automatically after I delete from chat history, I deleted them then I cleared the chat.

3

if the messages have been delivered, then telegram deletes them only if the recipients have deleted them as well

When you delete a message, you delete it from your message history. This means that a copy still stays on the server as part of your partner‘s message history. As soon as your partner deletes it too, it’s gone forever.

  • Thanks for your answer. That's a good point for Telegram, respecting privacy. – M. SH R Dec 4 '16 at 18:57
  • @M.SHR If this answer solved your problem, please consider "accepting" it. This will act as a signpost to future readers with the same question. (More in the Help Center.) – ale Jan 3 '17 at 18:52
  • This answer is not totally accurate. Read my answer. – Sopalajo de Arrierez Apr 4 '17 at 23:20
1

Since January 2017 versions (both desktop, web and mobile), Telegram allow to delete messages for everyone (this is: from the cloud) during 48 hours after writing/sending them. You will be offered an option for this when deleting.

Exceptions: inside supergroups, there is a common "chat history" for everyone. So, when deleting (48 hours, just like editing), messages will always disappear for everybody.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.