If I upload a file into a shared folder on Google Drive, that file is automatically visible and available to everyone that has access to that shared folder. If the owner of the folder then removes the sharing from the folder (i.e. the folder becomes private), what happens to my file?
From my observation, the file still counts toward my quota, but I no longer can access this file myself. Thus the file is still eating up into my quota, yet I am unable to delete it.
In my case, it's a 5 GB video file that was uploaded into a shared folder. I don't care about not being able to access it (it was recorded for somebody else and uploaded into a folder shared by that somebody else). However it seems to be eating into my GDrive quota, which for the free account is only 15 GB. Thus I seem to have permanently lost a third of my quota this way.
How does this work then?