0

Sorry if this is a bit convoluted. My client has shared all their Google Drive folders with me. I do the work, and then upload into the respective folders. For some reason - the work I've done ends up on my drive too. No clue why. (If anyone can answer that, that'll be a bonus!)

If I delete the work from my drive, to free up space - will they delete on my client's side too?

1
  • Yes, you own the items, so if you delete them, they are deleted for everybody. – ahorn Nov 13 '20 at 19:50
1

If your client has a Google Workspace (formerly G Suite) Business or higher account, ask them to create a Team Drive then move the files you uploaded there.

The above because if you upload the files to a folder that is in "My Drive", no matter if your client is the folder owner, the files consume your Google storage quota, and if you delete them then your client will not be able to open them.

Related

1
  • While we're on nomenclature, Team Drives have been called shared drives for longer than the G Suite renaming. – ahorn Nov 13 '20 at 19:47

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.