I have a file that I'm storing on Google Drive and I update it frequently with new versions (multiple times a day, sometimes). So far, when I copy the link from the "Share" window that allows other people to see the file, that link ceases to work after I upload a new version. Is there a way to make a link that links to whatever the current version of a particular file is?
If you want to be able to use the same share link you need to upload your new file as a new revision not a new file. Every time you upload a new file it will generate a new share link. However, if you upload a revision it will keep the same share link every time.
To upload a new version of a file using the web interface:
- Log into your drive and find the file or folder you wish to revise.
- Tick the checkbox next to the file or folder.
- From the dropdown that comes from the More button, click on Manage Revisions.
a. If you are viewing a file it will be under the File menu.
- A dialog box will appear in the top part of the box click the link "Upload a new revision"
Old revisions are kept per Google for 30 days or 100 revisions whichever comes first. Ofcourse from this same option you can delete or save revisions yourself.
You should use gdriveurl.com
It takes the ID of file and process it once, giving you a permalink of the resource. When you update the file and try to reach the file with the same link, it will give you as result the same file as the ID is permanent.
Here you can find more details about my answer.
Excellent suggestion by Bradley. I also suggest to uncheck the "do not auto delete" flag, for all the versions, unless you have specific requirements. In this way you:
- won't be accounted on your Drive space consumption for the space required for older versions;
- you will have older versions automatically deleted after 30 days (or after 100 versions are loaded).
I would also like to answer to Sonya: if you want a newer version of a "native" Google doc, simply cut and paste the new content, overlying the old content. Google Docs manages automatically versions, and you can additionally check the specific parts that were added or edited by each collaborative user.