If I delete a contact from LinkedIn, is there a possibility that I still show up under their "People You May Know" list? I fear this might create an awkward scenario. The person I deleted will be aware that I deleted them because now I show up under that list. Is there any way of preventing this from happening? The person is an ex-coworker. I'll be deleting my employment information soon, so it shouldn't be visible on my profile.
You don't have to worry about that. From LinkedIn help:
Note: You can also remove individual connections from the Contacts page by clicking More under their name and selecting Remove Connection. Connections you remove will no longer be a 1st-degree connection to you and they will no longer appear in your Contacts section. They will not be notified that they have been removed. Only the member that breaks the connection can reinitiate that connection