5

I have a shared file with someone and I don't want her to reach it anymore. She shared the file with me. Can I delete it permanently without the possibility that she will reach it again?

Will she get a notice about it?

5

If the file is shared with you, then you cannot remove the other person's access, as they are the owner. In Sharing Settings they will appear as "Is owner".

If you have shared the file with someone else, then in Sharing Settings you can click the X to remove a person from viewing the file any longer.

Sharing settings overview describes more options in detail. You can prevent someone from resharing a document, for example.

Important note: You cannot prevent a person from retaining a local copy of a document if they have already downloaded a copy to their computer. They will no longer be able to access the live document, but can reopen a document they have saved.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.