I left a project with a massive Google Drive shared folder. For a number of reasons, namely that I don't want all of those files indexed when I search my personal Drive files, I want to un-share the folder with myself.
How is that done without deleting the folder for everyone else?
My progress so far is that I recognized if I deleted the folder with my previous permissions I might delete it or at least move it to Trash for all of the collaborators. Thus, I tried to remove it by opening the "share with" menu and removing my privileges. The result is that I'm no longer in the list of editors but the folder is still in my filesystem and it is still indexed in my searches.
Update: I just clicked the Remove button. The folder disappeared from the main view but I still see other users' activity on those files in my Activity pane and the files remain in search results.