4

If I share a Google Photos album, other people who view it see a Download All button at the top of the page, as shown in the screenshot below. You should be able to see it yourself if you visit this album.

Is there any way to prevent that button from being shown? I've looked in my Google+ settings under Photos and Videos, and the option Allow viewers to download my photos and video is already unchecked.

enter image description here

  • +1 I find this quite curious. Is the "Allow viewers to download my photos" feature just for people within your circles for posts you may make? – Raystafarian Nov 4 '15 at 16:13
  • @Raystafarian With the pretty messy confluence of Google Photos, Google Drive, Google+ and PicasaWeb, I suspect not even Google know the answer to that question! – Mark Nov 4 '15 at 20:27
3

No you cannot do this on Google Photos.

--Update--
Not a chance with Google now, they are shutting down Picasa at 1st May.

This option is only available on Picasa web album. Google Drive does have an option to block the download link in the "advance" section of the share settings, and it will create a new Picasa album with uploaded photos automatically. However, you cannot edit such album on Picasa and will get a "500 Internal Server error" when you try. So you may want to upload your photos to Picasa directly.

  • Unfortunately, Picasa Web Albums have been announced to be shut down. – ale Mar 15 '16 at 14:29
  • Yeah, I knew that after I found my Picasa link was forwarded to Google Photo and did some search... – Piece Mar 31 '16 at 15:13

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.