I recently got a notification for being tagged in a comment on facebook by a friend (on the actual facebook UI - I have not seen any emails pertaining to this). The notification seemed, and probably is legitimate. However, upon clicking it, I got redirected without warning to some kind of burner blogspot domain - <40-character string>.blogspot.de, and through there, immediately got redirected to another obviously illegitimate phishing site.

My question is - is this a known exploit? I.e. hijacking an account, which then tags people on a blogspot post, leading to legitimate notifications which when clicked redirect you to the blogspot page?

UPDATE: A scan with Windows Defender revealed an infection with TrojanDownloader:Win32/Upatre

  • Do you think you had the "Urate" infection before clicking the link in the email? What is this "Urate"? (A quick Google didn't seem to return anything meaningful?) – MrWhite Dec 13 '15 at 13:12
  • 1
    Apologies for typo. I have daily scans and this is what picked it up for the first time, so I'm inclined to believe the two are connected. – purfrock Dec 13 '15 at 13:14
  • Just to clarify, is the link in the notification email a legitimate Facebook URL? – MrWhite Dec 13 '15 at 13:17
  • 1
    I haven't actually received a notification email - it is just an actual notification on the facebook UI. – purfrock Dec 13 '15 at 13:19

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.