I moved some files and folders on my PC into a folder synced with Google Drive. My intention was that once they were uploaded I would move them to a non-synced folder on my Drive, thereby keeping the online backup and deleting the local copies.
It worked fine while I only did the above with files. (I had to "Add them to My Drive" before I could move them to a folder within GD, but it still worked as intended.) When I tried to do the same with some subfolders in the same shared folder, after adding them to My Drive and moving them to the non-synced destination folder, they still seem to be linked to the Computers/PC copies of the same folders. They appear in both My Drive and Computers, and when I delete them from one location the other is deleted too, even though in My Drive they are placed in a non-synced folder.
(I hope my phrasing makes sense, feel free to ask for clarification.)